h1

Damon takes an Indian bride

March 9, 2007

Over the course of my month here in India, friends who’ve learned that D & I are about to get married, and that he was coming to visit at the end of my stay have pushed, half-seriously, for an Indian wedding. Last week, I was visiting the extraordinary archeological park at the Qutb Minar, and my flatmate Karen suggested we have a Hindu ceremony amidst these ruins. I conceded that the ancient pillars and carvings made for a dreamy setting, but that we couldn’t begin to make something like that work in such short time and with our travel plans. Fast forward to raucous Holi celebrations with CCS friends and staff, free-flowing Kingfisher and whiskey, and a jet-lagged Damon nodding in happy confused agreement, and a plan was hatched.img_0769.jpg

In three days, our friends pulled together the most beautiful wedding ceremony on a rooftop in Hauz Khas, leaving their placements early to decorate the place with marigolds and set up the traditional implements for the Hindu priest. Our “western” wedding in April is still very much on, but how could we resist the mystical ritual, evocative setting, the sensual beauty… and of course, the red saree and turban…?

More photos of me and my husband after the jump…

img_0737.jpgimg_0740.jpgimg_0743.jpgimg_0745.jpgimg_0754.jpgimg_0767.jpgimg_0771.jpgimg_0774.jpgimg_0728.jpgimg_0789.jpgindiadamon-344.jpgindiadamon-310.jpgindiadamon-343.jpgimg_0721.jpgimg_0719.jpg

9 comments

  1. Holy Crap!! Congrats my dears – I am so happy for you guys. Sounds absolutely perfect and absolutely you! What an amazing way to experience the culture fully! Well cheers to you guys and I can’t wait to have a tasty cocktail with you both to celebrate this fantastic news. WOW!


  2. Lovely pictures of a lovely and loving couple. May the rest of your life be as happy as you look in these pictures.


  3. dad remains speechless, tho’ after viewing the pictures, added “congrats with love, & anxious to see you both”. I can’t say I don’t “blieve” it, or it came as a shock, cuz the minute I heard Damon was joining you, I had a “maternal” feeling…
    Loving you & so glad that you have had such an amazing experience. Pictures are priceless…you look gorgeous & so very happy. Be safe. Mom & Dad


  4. Congratulations! You look beautiful and very happy!


  5. Holy smokes (as you would say!) CONGRATS…what an amazing decision, ceremony and memory of the most sacred of all sacrements…and so appropriate for amazing and one of a kind people such as you and Damon…
    Miss you tons and can’t wait to see you..
    Love, Sue


  6. Wonderful photos of a wonderful day – you both look ecstatic. Congratulations!


  7. I have just spent the entire afternoon reading the blog and I am speechless!! Congratulations are in order and much love to you both! Now see…I could have been your flower girl after all!How are you ever going to settle for Lambertville after you’ve experienced all this…


  8. BEAUTIFUL KARA !! i am speechless 🙂


  9. OMG, what a gorgeous ceremony and the setting is so pretty. What lovely friends you all have. I am so glad that you both agreed to it. It will be a fantastic story to share with your children and grandchildren one day. Many Blessings to you both. Thank you for sharing. The photos are so vibrant. Made me feel like I was there. 🙂
    ~Tammy



Leave a Reply

